Send to a Friend Print

Pray the Stations of the Cross

We invite you to pray the Way of the Cross, featuring the Stations of the Cross from the National Shrine of St. Jude. After you finish the video, we encourage you to send your petition to the altar of St. Jude or share this Stations of the Cross slideshow with your family and friends on your website, blog, or on Facebook or Twitter.

Send Your Prayer or Petition to the Shrine of St. Jude

   Please leave this field empty

Praying the Stations of the Cross

Through the centuries, Christians have set Good Friday aside - free of social engagements, entertainment or work. It is a time of prayer, special fasting and expectation. During Good Friday we accompany Jesus during His loneliest and most difficult hours on earth - His passion and death.

On Good Friday, Mass is not celebrated anywhere in the world. Instead, the solemn Liturgy of the Lord’s Passion is celebrated, normally in the afternoon. This unique liturgy consists of three parts: Liturgy of the Word, Veneration of the Cross, and Holy Communion.

The Liturgy of the Word. Readings from Isaiah and the letter to the Hebrews, and the Passion from St. John’s Gospel are proclaimed. After the homily, ten special intercessions are read or sung, including prayer for the church, for the pope, for the unity of Christians, for those in special need, and for those who do not believe in God.

Veneration of the Cross. The assembly is invited to come forward and perform an appropriate sign of reverence for the cross, such as touching or kissing the wood of the cross. Holy Communion. Holy Communion is distributed from the bread that was consecrated at the Mass on Holy Thursday. After communion, the altar is stripped, and the people leave church in silence.

Even though Good Friday is not a “holy day of obligation,” most Catholic churches are filled to capacity for this powerful celebration of the passion and death of the Lord.